Lab Alumni

Evelyn Williams
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison 2012
now a Research Associate at the Chicago Botanic Garden in Glencoe, IL

Erika Mudrak
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison 2010
now a Postdoctoral Researcher at Iowa State University in Ames, IA

Kathryn Amatangelo
Ph.D. Stanford 2008
Post-doc Research Associate, Waller Lab, UW-Madison 2008 - 2010.
now a Post-Doctoral Research Associate at Brown University, Providence, RI

Michelle Haynes
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison 2011
currently a Presidential Management Fellow and Course Leader, National Conservation Training Center, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Shepherdstown, WV

Sarah Johnson
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
now an Assistant Professor of Natural Resources, Northland College, Ashland, WI

Lisa Maas
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
Note: Doctorate received.
USFWS Onalaska / La Crosse



Current Position

Sarah Wright


Associate Outreach Specialist, Center for Biology Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dave Rogers


Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Rachel Collins


Assistant Professor, Frostburg State University, Frostburg, MD

Shannon Wiegmann


Anne Arundel Community College, Arnold, MD

Catherine Woodward


Instructor, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Michael Stevens


Assistant Professor, California State University, Stanilaus

Owen Boyle


Regional Ecologist, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, SE Region

Janet Steven


Assistant Professor, Sweet Briar College, Sweet Briar, VA

Tania Schoennagel


Research Fellow, University of Colorado, Boulder

Thomas Rooney


Assistant Professor, Wright State University, Dayton, OH

Hillary Callahan


Assistant Professor, Barnard College, Columbia University, New York, NY

YingQing Lu


Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing

James Meeker


Associate Professor, Northland College, Ashland, WI

Stephen L. Solheim


Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Margaret Kuchenreuther


Associate Professor, University of Minnesota-Morris

C. Rick Williams


Associate Professor, Idaho State University, Pocatello

Susan Gawler


Community Ecologist, Maine State Natural Areas Program

Susan Knight


Research limnologist, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

S. Thomas Mitchell-Olds


Professor, Duke University, Durham, NC

Eric Menges


Senior Research Scientist, Archbold Biological Station, Lake Placid, Florida

David Steingraeber


Associate Professor, Colorado State University, Fort Collins

Lab 2003
Fall 2002
Back: Dave Rogers, Michael Stevens, Greg Gelembiuk
Middle: Don Waller, Shannon Wiegmann, Janet Steven, Raffica La Rosa
Front: Tom Rooney, Ivan Welander
Photo: Claudia Lipke
Field Crew 2005
Summer 2005
Field Crew on Sand Island of Apostle Islands National Lakeshore
Front: Dan Olson, Josh Sulman
Back: Darian Kath and Sarah Johnson
Lab Group 2005
September 2005
Back Row: Rachel Collins, Claudia Calderon, Greg Gelembiuk, Erika Mudrak, Dan Olson, Dave Rogers, Catherine Woodward
Front Row: Sarah Johnson, Don Waller, Sarah Wright
Lab Group 2006
Spring 2006
Back Row: Ann Busche, Don Waller, Erika Mudrak, Sarah Johnson
Front Row: Evelyn Williams, Sarah Klionsky, Sarah Wright, Michelle Haynes
Lab Ski Trip 2007
2007 Annual Ski Retreat
Back Row: Ann Busche, Sarah Klionsky, Don Waller, Sarah Johnson, Evelyn Williams, Erika Mudrak
Front Row: Michelle Haynes, Sarah Wright
Spring 2008
Back Row: Ann Busche, Steve Horn, Sarah Johnson, Don Waller, Erika Mudrak, Evelyn Williams, Ryan Haasl
Front Row: Kelly Wagner, Michelle Haynes, Sarah Wright, Sarah Klionsky, Alycia W. Crall